The Help

20 Apr

The best book I’ve read in the last year or so was The Help, by Kathryn Sockett. It was provocative and a total page-turner, beautifully written and I’ve recommended it to more people than I can remember.

Last night, a movie trailer came on with Emma Stone looking slightly homely (unlike her usual lovely self) and I realized what it was: they have already made a movie of the book, and it’s coming out in this summer! You’d think that I’d be happy about it… but no. I hate to say it, but it looked cheesy. I’m afraid it won’t live up to the sheer awesomeness that was the book. I know that books are always better, but I’m calling it now: it’s gonna tank.

You can watch the trailer here.

Sigh.

One Response to “The Help”

  1. Kelly April 20, 2011 at 10:41 pm #

    Do you own the book? I’ve been hearing a bunch about it lately and need a good new read!

Leave a Reply

