Secret Ingredient

22 Mar

A few weeks ago while working late one night, my very health-conscious co-worker (and fellow spartan – go green) told me about some brownies he had made over the weekend. He said they were absolutely “the best brownies I’ve ever had.” Naturally, I ask for the recipe and the conversation goes a little something like this:

Me: “Seriously!? You HAVE to give me the recipe.”
Him: “Ok. But you’re never going to believe it when I tell you.”
Me: “Why?”
Him: “Because there’s a weird ingredient.”
Me: “Like… oatmeal?”
Him: “No. Black beans.”

Say whaaa!? In my head, I think I heard something like a record screeching to a halt. But we talk about it for a few more minutes, and I’m sold.

So this weekend, Miss Julia was coming over for a Wire marathon so I decided to give it a try to see if they were as good as they were made out to be.

Ingredients:

That’s it. 1 box of brownie mix (any brand, whatever your favorite is), and 1 can of frijoles negros.

All you do: Open the can of black beans & rinse them thoroughly in a colander. Put them back into the can, and fill the can to the top with water. Pour the beans & water into a blender or food processor and puree the living crap out of it. In a big bowl, mix together the bean puree & the brownie mix. DO NOT ADD ANY OF THE INGREDIENTS THE BOX SAYS TO ADD. Pour the mixture into the pan and bake for the amount of time on the box! (Mine took a bit longer than the box, but I used an 8×8 pan so they were thicker).

So the verdict: they were awesome. They passed the husband test with flying colors (which isn’t always hard to do), but they also passed Julia’s test, and she has a more refined palate than most. I wouldn’t say they’re the best I’ve ever had, but they were incredibly rich and dense and you honestly wouldn’t know there was anything different about them unless someone told you. And added bonus: think about all the extra fiber & protein you’re getting!

2 Responses to “Secret Ingredient”

  1. Doreen March 23, 2011 at 7:06 am #

    Glad you’re back!! Missed Team Pattymelt! 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stealth Health « - May 16, 2011

    […] delightful experience with brownies a few months back, I was excited when my Mom sent me this article she found. We’re pretty […]

Leave a Reply

