All Dried Out

22 Feb

Ever since I can remember, dried apricots have been in my life. And ever since I can remember, I have loved them. Then one day I stumbled upon some article on some blog that told me how BAD dried fruit was for you if you bought it from the store. It was not just an “enjoy in moderation” bit – it was a “you will never have the waistline you want if these are a part of your diet.” And let’s be honest, I know the waistline I want.

That day, I decided that I would like to own a dehydrator so that I could make my own dried treats. The only way I’ll know what’s in them is if I make them myself, right?

Fast forward a few years, and my sweet mother-in-law offers to let us borrow hers to try out before we commit to yet another appliance. So this past weekend, we stocked up on fresh fruit – apples, bananas & strawberries – and spent our rainy Sunday afternoon dehydrating!

The handy dandy instruction manual gives good direction on what to do and what not to do. They suggest that you “pre-treat” the fruit with an acidic juice, preferably lemon or orange, by soaking it for 2 minutes.

Then you arrange the fruit on the trays of the dehydrator, flip the switch, and go play for 4-12 hours. EASY PEASY!

So how did it work? Well…
Batch 1: Bananas, apples & strawberries. Overcooked. I may have chipped a tooth on a banana chip, but I chalk it up to rookie error. They’ll be good with cereal and milk!
Batch 2: Apples. Slightly overcooked, but still a tad chewy.

Next up: Strawberry fruit leather! 100% fruit, 100% of the time.

The verdict is still out on if Team PM will purchase a dehydrator, but I’m liking what I’ve seen far!

2 Responses to “All Dried Out”

  1. guest February 22, 2011 at 9:31 pm #

    that’s a pretty vase!

  2. Kiki March 7, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    I loveeeee dried strawberries!

Leave a Reply

